The Tillers , Joybird

Thu, Jun 20 2019, 8:30pm - $10 - Tickets

Doors open at 7 pm. 

THE TILLERS: The Tillers have been thumping their own distinctive sound of string band style folk music for a decade, riding it all over the country and across the sea. Four studio albums and one live record have won them praise as modern folk storytellers of the national soundscape.

Musically, the band wears many hats. Their sound has proven to be an appropriate fit with a wide range of musical styles- traditional folk, bluegrass, jazz, punk rock and anything else they might run into. They have shared the stage with a broad swath of national touring acts, ranging from renowned folk legends such as Doc Watson, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, Guy Clark, Country Joe McDonald, Jerry Douglas, Iris Dement, Pokey LaFarge, The Hackensaw Boys and The Carolina Chocolate Drops to rambunctious rock daredevils like the Legendary Shack Shakers.

JOYBIRD: Joybird’s new album "Landing" is fiddler and songwriter Jess McIntosh's dynamic follow-up to "Long Time Exhaling" (2017). Where the first record drew listeners into the daily intimacies of love and longing, this one faces outward, connecting the political with the personal, care for one’s neighbors with care for one’s self.

‚ÄčStories, community, slow living—these themes are rooted in the folk genre already, but Joybird employs them with contemporary matter of fact. In an era where gun violence has become everyday news, the opening line of their featured traditional ballad “Molly Ban”—"come all you young fellows who handle a gun”—takes on new and sobering weight. The closing track “My House,” is a healing balm for burned-out activists, tired hearts, anyone who has tried to do everything and inevitably failed. “I’ve been so unkind to myself / now I’m taking the time, finally / to clean up my house,” Jess sings with gentle confidence.

Expanding the core trio of Jess on fiddle, banjo, guitar and voice, percussionist Bill Harris (Four Letter Words, Devouring the Guilt, Bowlcut) and multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Aaron Smith (On Big Shoulders, Growler, Horseshoe Bender), Joybird’s Landing features new regular member Emily Nott on guitar and vocals, Dan Andree (The Henhouse Prowlers) on fiddle, Steve Doyle (Hoyle Brothers) on dobro and electric guitar, Sara Leginsky (Glass Mountain) on banjo and vocals, Cass Pautler on clarinet, and Anna S. Jacobson on french horn and trumpet. The entire team wrapped recording on this record in three days with minimal overdubs, highlighting the fluidity of a group that’s been together on the road, in bars and in each other’s homes, in music and in friendship.